Writer’s Block Be Damned!

Chapter 11 is up and running. 

I think one of the reasons this chapter was so super difficult for me to write is that I wanted Bella’s reaction to be realistic.  In Twilight canon, Bella is shocked that Edward is a vampire but determines that this does not matter and goes on to accept him for what he is.  But I can’t STAND fanfics where Edward is all, “I’m a vampire!”  And then Bella’s all, “Really?  Wow.  Okay.  Let’s go make out!”  I mean… come on!  SMeyer had literally chapters and chapters of dialogue and contemplation to get to the acceptance point.  I hope you guys think I’m doing alright with this.  Also, I think another reason it was hard to write is that my Edward tends to be predominately sarcastic and snarky and smitten; in this chapter, I had to make him far more serious.  Which was hard.

Bella needed to tell the rest of this Q&A session, so the next installment will be Bella’s more detailed interview with the vampire we all know and love.  And want to lick.

Tags: ,

Leave a comment